The Distinguished Academic Awards Committee (DAAC) is an advisory committee to the Provost and an adjunct committee of the University Appointments and Promotions Committee (UAPC).

Terms of Reference

DAAC will provide advice to the Provost in relation to University distinguished academic titles and appointments, as required by the Human Resources Delegations in the Vice-Chancellor’s Delegations Manual, and such other advice as the Provost may require or request.

DAAC will receive and assess nominations from the Vice-Chancellor, Provost, Deputy Vice-Chancellors and Deans for:

  • The award of the title of Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor; and
  • Appointments as Melbourne Laureate Professor.

On the advice of DAAC, the Provost will recommend nominees for the award of the title Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor and for appointment as Melbourne Laureate Professor to the Vice-Chancellor for approval.

Distinguished academic appointments and the award of distinguished academic titles, made on the advice of DAAC, will be reported annually to Council.


Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research (Chair)
President, Academic Board
Up to 6 Laureate Professors


Professor James McCluskey, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research (Chair)
Professor Mark Considine, Provost
Professor Nilss Olekalns, President, Academic Board
Melbourne Laureate Professor John Hattie
Melbourne Laureate Professor Ary Hoffmann 
Melbourne Laureate Professor Cheryl Saunders AO
Melbourne Laureate Professor Frank Caruso
Melbourne Laureate Professor Hilary Charlesworth AM
Melbourne Laureate Professor Hugh Taylor AC

The quorum will be at least five members.

For more information, including details on the nomination process for both Melbourne Laureate Professors and Redmond Barry Distinguished Professors, please contact


Date Submission Deadlines
Monday 11 March 2019 Friday 15 February 2019
Tuesday 14 May 2019 Friday 3 May 2019
Tuesday 13 August 2019 Friday 2 August 2019
Tuesday 26 November 2019 Friday 15 November 2019

Melbourne Laureate Professors

Appointment as a Melbourne Laureate Professor represents a significant honour and the University ensures that prominence is given to the work of such professors.

The University from time to time may appoint the following as Melbourne Laureate Professors:

  • Nobel Laureates;
  • Scholars equivalent in standing to Nobel Laureates (who will be in fields in which Nobel prizes are not awarded); or
  • Distinguished professors from existing University of Melbourne professoriate.

Download (staff only)MLP Guidelines 2016(PDF )

Current Melbourne Laureate Professors may be viewed on the University’s About Us webpage.

Redmond Barry Distinguished Professors

The Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor title was established in late 2014 in order to recognise outstanding leaders within the University’s professoriate or have demonstrated:

  • Leadership in the University and wider community; and either
  • Pre-eminence in research or creative activity; or
  • Pre-eminence in research and teaching.

Download (staff only)Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor Guidelines 2016(PDF )

Current Redmond Barry Distinguished Professors may be viewed on the University’s About Us webpage.

Please login using your Unimelb staff credentials